LRGHealthcare Presents Highest Honor Awards

Press Release
Rhoda C. Ladd and Sally Proctor Award recipients, LRGHealthcare Family Practitioner, Peter Doane, MD and former Board Trustee, Nancy LeRoy

LACONIA, NH- LRGHealthcare held its 16th Annual Meeting of its members April 11, 2018 at Laconia Country Club with approximately 70 people in attendance.  

As part of the evening’s program, Scott Sullivan, Chairman of the LRGHealthcare Board of Trustees and Kevin W. Donovan, LRGHealthcare President and CEO, presented the 2018 Rhoda C. Ladd and Sally Proctor Awards.  The awards are LRGHealthcare’s highest honors and are given annually to individuals who give of themselves to improve the community’s healthcare system.

The 2018 Laconia based, Rhoda C. Ladd Award was presented to retiring LRGHealthcare Board Trustee, Nancy LeRoy.  LeRoy has been involved with a vast array of organizations that contribute to the betterment of the community. Most notably, in the healthcare arena, however her involvement and efforts in helping to found Community Health and Hospice and her 19 years of service to the LRGHealthcare Board of Trustees reflects contributions to the betterment of the community..

The Franklin based, Sally Proctor Award for 2018 honored long time LRGHealthcare Family Practitioner, Dr. Peter Doane.  Dr. Doane has been caring for patients in the greater Franklin community for over 30 years and recently completed his tenure as LRGHealthcare’s Chief Medical Officer.  He has also been at the forefront of population health working with partners at both the state and local levels to improve health and access to care for all.

In addition to the presentation of awards, much of the evening’s program focused on the accomplishments and positive financial outcome of Fiscal Year 2017.  LRGHealthcare finished Fiscal Year 2017 (October 1, 2016- September 30, 2017) with an operating gain of $1.038 Million; a big improvement over the 2016 operating loss of $1.8 Million.  In recent months, however LRGHealthcare has struggled. Donovan and Chief Financial Officer, Wayne Bennet presented details of the organization’s financial picture and what’s being done to turn things around.  

The governance portion of the evening included the addition of two new members of LRGHealthcare as well as the elections of Bill Bald and David Pearlman for their first three-year terms as trustees.  

2017 members of the LRGHealthcare Board included Scott Sullivan, Chairman; Robert Evans, MD, Vice Chairman; Cynthia Baron, Treasurer/Secretary; Scott Clarenbach; Nancy Leroy (retired at end of annual meeting); K. Mark Primeau; Russell Thibeault; James Clements; Gil Schohan; Stuart Tracy; Paul Racicot,MD, President of Medical Staff; Vercin Ephrem, MD, Vice President of Medical Staff; and Glenn Fusonie, MD, Past President of Medical Staff.

Attendees also heard the medical staff report presented by President of Medical Staff, Vercin Ephrem, MD where he recognized all those providers who retired from or joined the organization in the last year.  To view the 2017 LRGHealthcare Annual Report, log on to