NH High School Short Film Festival announces 2018 winners

Press Release

The 11th annual New Hampshire Film Office took place at Red River Theatres in Concord on May 19, with up-and-coming filmmakers from around the state taking home prizes in several categories.

Twenty-seven films were selected from 56 entries submitted by students from New Hampshire high schools and career and technology centers. They spanned a variety of film genres, including animation, comedy, drama, documentary and public service announcements/commercials.

Originality, cinematic storytelling and technical execution are the primary scoring elements.

This year’s winners are:

–       Jury Award (Best in Show): The Waiter; Briana Demers, Grace Lumley, Nate Magoon; Salem High School

–       Jury Award (Runner up): The Letter; Kenny Sullivan, Nick Hurman, Brandon Depew; Pinkerton Academy

–       Jury Award Finalists:

–       Captain Dab; Joshua McDevitt, Kellen Sheehan, Tyler McCallum; Nashua Technology Center

–       God’s Acre; Brenden Nault; Salem High School

–     “Worthles”; Autumn-Rose Bogdan, Rheannon Rodriguez; Salem High School

–       Public Service Announcement Award: Drive Safe; Jeff Lybarger, Myles Ditkoff, Johnny Chavira, Sarah Eaton; Keene High School

The festival is an opportunity for students to have their films seen before the public at a professional venue and for the public to experience the state’s up-and-coming creative talent. For more information, visit nhstudentfilm.com.